Got something to say or just want fewer pesky ads? Join us... 😊

[Misc] Learning difficulty versus learning difference

Harry Wilson's tackle

Harry Wilson's Tackle
NSC Patron
Oct 8, 2003
Faversham
Perhaps there are people on NSC who can clear up something for me.

I have noticed that when our students (I am a uni lecturer) are given extra time in exams owing to dyslexia or ADHD, and when staff are asked to provide captions for recorded lectures to assist students who are deaf, these students are now being described as having a 'learning difference', rather than a 'learning difficulty'.

I had been quite happy with 'difference' as it legitimately predicated a need to making special arrangements to put students on a level playing field.

However, a learning difference does not sound to me like something that predicates special arrangements. I have a tendency to prefer information in words and pictures to help me learn facts. Some students prefer words and some prefer pictures. These are learning differences. They are not learning difficulties (unless the lecturer uses slides with only words or only pictures, disadvantaging different students). And they are not difficulties of substance; I have never me a student in 35 years who cannot learn from words or pictures; it is largely a personal preference.

So to me there are a range of learning differences, that have nuanced impact on an ability to learn. Some of us need silence whereas others can read and retain information in a room full of loud conversation or music. Some of us like to take a break from learning after 20 minutes or so. Others can do learning marathons lasting hours. Differences. Not difficulties.